According to the Vishnu Purana or Bishnu Puran, the seas were Lavana/Lobon (salt), Iksu/Ikkhu (sugar-cane), Sura/Sura (wine), Sarpi (clarified butter or Ghee), Dadhi/Dodhi (yoghurt or curd), Dugdha/Dugdho (milk) and Jala/Jol (water). For example, there is also mention of a Peeta/Pit Sagara/Sagor ie Yellow Sea. This passage demonstrates the Seven Seas as referenced in Medieval Arabian literature: Arab seafarers may have also considered other important seas nearby which they navigated regularly, including the Black Sea, Caspian Sea, Red Sea, Mediterranean Sea, and Adriatic Sea. And what are the seven seas? For Helath: Chelath and Shelyith. Pliny the Elder, a Roman author and fleet commander, wrote about these lagoons, separated from the open sea by sandbanks: All those rivers and trenches were first made by the Etruscans, thus discharging the flow of the river across the marshes of the Atriani called the Seven Seas, with the famous harbor of the Etruscan town of Atria which formerly gave the name of Atriatic to the sea now called the Adriatic. Detailed reckonings of the divisions of the world ocean into oceans and seas is not limited to lists of seven. The 7 Continents of The World. [1] Since the 19th century, the term has been taken to include seven oceanic bodies of water:[2][3], The World Ocean is also collectively known as just "the sea". In the 9th century AD, author Ya'qubi wrote: Whoever wants to go to China must cross seven seas, each one with its own color and wind and fish and breeze, completely unlike the sea that lies beside it. Continents are the large land masses that we see on our earth. The Arabs and their near neighbours considered the Seven Seas (Arabic: البحار السبعة‎) to be the seas that they encountered in their voyages to The East. The Kshira Sagar or Kshir Sagar or Khir Sagor is also the white Sea. But over the years, glaciers have melted threatening sea levels to rise. For Hiltha: Chiltha and Chultha. The navigable network in the mouths of the Po river discharges into saltmarshes on the Adriatic shore and was colloquially called the "Seven Seas" in ancient Roman times. [20], After the discovery of the Americas during the Age of Discovery, the "seven seas" were reckoned by some as:[3]. In the islands of this sea grow bamboo and rattan. For many years only (4) four oceans were officially recognized, and then in the spring of 2000, the International Hydrographic Organization established the Southern Ocean, and determined its limits. The medieval concept of the Seven Seas has its origins in Greece and Rome. [19] Lightfoot does not comment on the remaining three seas. As per research, the Arctic might become ice-free by 2040. This refers to the seven seas and four rivers that surround the land of Israel. The third sea is called Harkand, and in it lies the Island of Sarandib, in which are precious stones and rubies. Now we have 7 continents and 5 oceans which are home to all of us and millions of other living organisms. It was applied to the Venetians long before they sailed the oceans.[9]. The fourth sea is called Kalah and is shallow and filled with huge serpents. They were trading routes in ancient times and since the time of Muhammad, they are the places where Islam spread and is widely practised. 74b, it reads: When R. Dimi came he said R. Yohanan said: "What is the meaning of the verse, 'For he hath founded it upon the seas and established it upon the floods.' It covers an expanse of about 73,556,000 square kilometers. This is everything that you need to know about the seven continents and the five oceans of the world. The second sea begins at Ra’s al-Jumha and is called Larwi. The newest of the oceans is the Antarctic Ocean, which had its boundaries proposed by the International Hydrographic Organization in 2000, but not all countries involved agreed and the boundaries have not yet been ratified. In historical Greek literature, where the term "seven seas" is thought to have first appeared, the seven seas included the Aegean, Adriatic, Mediterranean, Black, Red, and Caspian seas. The seventh sea is called the sea of Sanji, also known as Kanjli. 5 Arctic Ocean. The International Hydrographic Organization lists over 70 distinct bodies of water called seas. And what are the four rivers? Since the 19th century, the term has been taken to include seven oceanic bodies of water: the Arctic Ocean; the North Atlantic Ocean; the South Atlantic Ocean; the Indian Ocean; the North Pacific Ocean; the South Pacific Ocean; the Southern (or Antarctic) Ocean The first of them is the Sea of Fars, which men sail setting out from Siraf. It ends at Ra’s al-Jumha; it is a strait where pearls are fished.